My family is big. I have my parents, my sister, and that’s not much, but both of my parents have four siblings, with divorced and remarried parents, (even more siblings), so I literally have a huge family. My cousins are numerous. At every wedding or funeral, I meet at least 5 or 10 new distant relations.

My family is not uniform, more than most families, maybe: on my dad’s side, three atheist brothers, one, a pothead in California, the other, a married guy with a beautiful wife, both covered in tattoos and piercings, the last, a believer of conspiracies, and one sister, the Christian who suffers from severe anxiety. My mom: one dead brother, her other brother is now a sister, and two twin sisters with mental illnesses. My cousins are very unique as well. But this is family. Family is not religion or sexual orientation, because if you love someone, it doesn’t matter. Difference is beautiful.

~Scarlett

*Sorry if this rambles, was a little tired.*

Leave a Reply

