I’m bisexual. This, for clarification, means that I am attracted to both men and women. I personally have begun to believe that people are not as straight as they want you to think. I mean, who has never desired anyone of the same sex? I can’t picture what that would feel like!

Anyway, all my life I’ve been taught to accept the LGBTQ+ community, but not to become part of it. I’ve been this way since I can remember. Everything made me uncomfortable: changing in front of girls, the thought of naked girls, etc. I realized that I was attracted to girls, my mother noticed this and was quick to inform me that girls notice each other, and it’s perfectly normal. I knew the way I felt was not “normal”. The pastor at our church discouraged homosexuality, and even though I didn’t know exactly what he was talking about, I quickly figured it out.

Ugh. Coming out was terrifying. It wasn’t as bad as some, but my dad shouted “What the hell is going on?” And didn’t speak to me for the rest of the day. I still haven’t told so much of my family, because it’s scary. It’s terrifying. I know that my uncle would be upset. My grandfather would interrogate me.

But I feel my strength growing. I realize that I can be who I want. I will stand up and shout out for the world to hear, “I am bisexual! And I am proud!”

I beg all of you to please stop silencing the voices that are desperate to be heard. You hurt people like me. You hurt me. I just want people to accept us all. We will never cease to exist. Accept us now. Because we are here and you can’t change that. Not with your phony books and amulets and charms and prayers, not with your pointed fingers and jeers. Not with your bullets, your knives, your devices of torture. Not with your words. We will not die quietly. We will rise.

~Scarlett

Leave a Reply

