I am a liberal woman. I do not believe in gender roles or any of that bullshit. But today is Mother’s Day, which throws gender roles into the light. Ah, yes, the old-fashioned ideas pop up in everyone’s mind:

The young girl in her polka dot dress with ribbons in her long hair dancing about with her dolls, her “children,” who she pretends to feed and care for…

And really, there is nothing wrong with this image, if one remembers that this should never be society’s way of thinking.
Alright, alright, you’re probably thinking, “who is this nutter with no respect for mothers?”

I respect mothers. I do. I have a mother, (obviously,) and I respect her. But really. I never want to be a mother. And that does not make me any less of a woman. Or any less desirable, godly, attractive, it does not make me less of anything. In fact, it just makes me a woman who does not want to push a nine pound baby out of her vagina. Seriously, people.

Anyway, this Mother’s Day, remind your children (and yourselves) that they can be anything they want to be. Mothers, fathers, writers, dancers, accountants, anything at all, male or female. Happy Mother’s Day, all.

~ Scarlett

Leave a Reply

